Participating Groups

Cardiff University LogoCranfield University LogoSciences and Technology Facilities Council LogoEPCC LogoImperial College London LogoUniversity of Leeds LogoManchester University LogoOxford University LogoUniversity of Strathclyde LogoUCL Logo

View all


Subset of a wild-type P6 retinal plexus used to reconstruct one of our retinal blood flow models, namely P6A model. The original microscope image is segmented and the network skeleton and segment radii are computed. Based on these values, a three-dimensional volume is reconstructed assuming vessels of piecewise constant radius. (a) Original image. (b) Segmented image. (c) Reconstructed surface. Reproduced from [Bernabeu et al., Journal of the Royal Society Interface, 2014].


Rayleigh-Bénard natural heat convection between cold and hot plates, using additional lattice for heat flows and Boussinesq approximation to couple temperature and fluid flow. Temperature indicated by colour field, fluid flow by velocity streamlines. Included as a demo with DL_MESO.

Participating groups

Cardiff University Logo Cranfield University Logo
Sciences and Technology Facilities Council Logo EPCC Logo
Imperial College London Logo University of Leeds Logo
Manchester University Logo Oxford University Logo
University of Strathclyde Logo UCL Logo


Prof Kai Luo (UCL, PI)
Dr Santosh Ansumali (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India)
Dr Miguel Bernabeu (The University of Edinburgh)

Dr Edo Boek (Queen Mary, University of London)

Dr Sheng Chen (University of Nottingham)

Prof Peter Coveney (UCL) 

Dr Paul Dellar (University of Oxford) 

Prof Lyazid Djenidi (University of Newcastle, Australia)

Dr David Emerson (Daresbury Laboratory, STFC)
Prof Claus Feuchter (University of Aalen, Germany)
Dr. Tiziano Ghisu (University of Cagliari, Italy) 

Dr David Graham (Plymouth University) 

Dr Derek Groen (Brunel University) Dr David Holman (Next Limit Technologies, Spain) 

Dr Ian Halliday (Sheffield Hallam University)

Dr Timoleon Kipouros (University of Cambridge)
Dr Timos Kipouros (Cranfield University)
Dr Timm Krüger (University of Edinburgh) 

Dr Halim Kusumaatmaja (Durham University)

Dr Krzysztof Kubiak (University of Huddersfield)
Prof Kurt Langfeld (Plymouth University)

Prof Kurt Langfeld (Plymouth University)

Dr Rodrigo Ledesma-Aguilar (Northumbria University)

Prof Qing Li (Central South University, China)

Dr Daniel Lycett-Brown (Dassault Systemes Simulia, Spain)

Dr. Jianping Meng (Daresbury Laboratory, STFC)

Dr Rupert Nash (EPCC, consortium ARCHER contact) 

Prof Tim Phillips (Cardiff University)
Prof Rongshan Qin (Open University)
Dr Tim Reis (University of Greenwich)
Dr Alistair Revell (University of Manchester) 

Dr. Daniel Ruprecht (Univeristy of Leeds)
Prof Mark Savill (Cranfield University, Chair of CCPEngSci) 

Dr Michael Seaton (Daresbury Laboratory) 

Dr Ulf Schiller (Clemson University, USA) 

Dr Jon Summers (University of Leeds) 
Dr Sebastian Schmieschek (UCL) 

Dr Ilian Todorov (Daresbury Laboratory, STFC)
Dr Mark Wilson (University of Leeds)
Prof Yuying Yan (University of Nottingham)

Prof Julia Yeomans FRS (University of Oxford)

Prof Yonghao Zhang (University of Strathclyde) 

Management Committee (MC)

Prof Kai Luo (Chair of MC, UCL)

Dr Miguel Bernabeu (The University of Edinburgh)

Prof Peter Coveney (UCL)

Prof David Emerson (Daresbury Laboratory, STFC)

Prof Tim Phillips (Cardiff University)

Prof Rongshan Qin (Open University)

Prof Mark Savill (Cranfield University)

Prof Yonghao Zhang (University of Strathclyde) 

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Prof Sauro Succi (Italian Institute of Technology Foundation and University of Harvard, Chair of SAB) 

Prof Ilya Karlin (ETH Zurich)
Prof Lyazid Djenidi (University of Newcastle, Australia)
Prof Andrew Pollard (Queen’s University, Canada)
Prof Xiaowen Shan (Southern University of Science and Technology, China)
Prof Stefan Turek (Technical University Dortmund, Germany)

Prof Wen-An Yong (Tsinghua University, China)